Shahed, Elias to lead DRU

Shahed Chowdhury and Elias Khan .

Shahed Chowdhury, chief reporter of the daily Samakal, and Elias Khan, of the daily Amar Desh, were elected president and general secretary of the Dhaka Reporters Unity on Friday.

Shahed bagged 647 votes while his rival Asaduzzaman Samrat got 141.

Elias polled 352 votes while incumbent DRU general secretary Sazzad Alam Khan Tapu got 264 and Shoukat Osman Rochi 167.

Of the other office bearers, ABM Ziaul Kabir Suman of Diganta Television and Ilias Hossain of Independent TV were elected vice-president and joint general secretary of the DRU.

Mursalin Nomani of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha became first among the elected executive members followed by Hasan Jahid Tusher of The Daily Star and Jamiul Ahsan Shipu of the daily Ittefaq.

Nearly 800 members of the DRU cast their votes in Friday’s election to elect their leadership for the next one year.

Voting started around 9:00 in the morning and continued till 5:00pm with an hour break from 1:00pm to 2:00pm.

Source: The Daily Star


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here