Govt appoints 31 directors

The government appointed 31 directors of seven state-run banks and financial institutions yesterday.

Former government officials, at the level of joint secretaries, dominated the appointment.

With this, 21 out of 26 vacant posts of directors at Sonali, Agrani and Janata banks are now filled.

However, 15 directorial posts at state-run banks and financial institutions are still vacant.

Balaram Poddar, who served as a director of Janata Bank before the board’s tenure expired last September, has been appointed as a director of Agrani Bank. He is a former leader of pro-Awami League student body Bangladesh Chhatra League.

Dr Zaid Bakht, research director of Bangladeshi Institute of Development Studies, is now a Sonali Bank director.

Other new directors of the bank are Md Nazibor Rahman, a former director of Janata Bank, Shekhor Dutta, secretary of Moni-Singh-Farhad Memorial Trust, Selima Ahmad, vice chairman of Nitol-Niloy Group of Industries, Md Mahbub Hossain, Kazi Tariqul Islam, Saheb Ali Mridha, all former joint secretaries, and Md Enamul Haque Chowdhury, a former managing director of Sonali Bank.

Nagibul Islam Dipu, a former director of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Dr Ramoni Mohan Devnath, a former banker, Syed Bazlul Karim, Prof Mohammad Moinuddin, an educationist, and Md Abu Naser now hold the posts of Janata Bank directors.

Engineer Abdus Sabur, Niaz Rahim, group director of Rahimafrooz, Baloram Poddar, Dr MA Rouf Sarder, an associate professor of ENT at Bangladesh Medical College Hospital, Begum Hasina Newaz, vice-president of Bangladesh Women Chamber of Commerce and Industry, were appointed directors at Agrani Bank.

Details of Shamim Ahsan, Md Altaf Hossain Molla and ABM Quamrul Islam could not be known immediately. The banking and financial institution division only gave their names and residential addresses in Dhaka.

Dewan Nurul Islam FCA, Kazi Morshed Helal Kamal, Advocate Md Abdus Salam, who hails from Manikganj, Dr Rustam Ali Ahmed, from Nilphamari, and Syed Eptar Hossain Pear, from Sylhet, were appointed as directors of the Bangladesh Development Bank Ltd.

AKM Rezaur Rahman and AKM Quamrul Islam FCA, whose details were not available, got appointment at BASIC Bank.

Dr Madan Mohan Dey and Md Ebayedur Rahman Pramanik, both professors of Rajshahi University, were appointed as directors of Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank.

Mashiur Rahman Humayun, who hails from Dhaka, was appointed as director Bangladesh Krishi Bank.

Source:The Daily Star


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here