EC’s letter to 7 political parties on polls to women seats


The Election Commission on Monday sent letters to seven political parties that have representation to the 10th parliament asking them to take preparation over electing 50 women from reserved seats.


In separate letters to independent MPs, the commission sought their opinions whether they would join any party or alliance.


Election Commissioner Shah Nawaz on Monday said the schedule for election to the women seats will be announced after the re-voting in eight constituencies.


There is legal obligation to arrange election to the 50 reserved seats within 90 days after the general election.


Meanwhile, the Parliament Secretariat on Sunday sent lists of MPs, who took oath, to the EC secretariat.


Out of 300 constituencies, election in 292 parliamentary seats completed with the ruling Awami League winning 232 seats, while Jatiya Party 33, Workers Party six, Jasad five and Tarikat Federation and BNF one each.


According to the Article 65 (3A) of the Constitution, the 50 women (reserved) Members of Parliament from the political parties shall be elected by the elected MPs on the basis of the parties’ proportional representation in Parliament.

Source: UNB Connect


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here