Oppressive rule not acceptable: Kamal

The Daily Star  December 16, 2018
Oppressive rule not acceptable: Kamal
Jatiya Oikyafront leader Dr Kamal Hossain along with its other leaders places wreaths at the National Memorial in Savar on Sunday, December 16, 2018 on the occasion of the 48th Victory Day of the country. Photo: Palash Khan/Star
Citing that the country is being “ruled in an oppressive” manner, Dr Kamal Hossain, a key leader of the opposition alliance Jatiya Oikyafront, today urged all to unite to rid the country of such a rule.

“It is not acceptable to us that the country is under an oppressive rule. We will all unite to fight against it,” said Dr Kamal, also president of Gonoforum.

He came up with the remarks while talking to reporters after paying tributes to the martyrs of the Liberation War in 1971 by placing wreaths at the National Memorial in Savar this morning on the occasion of the 48th Victory Day of the country today.

Photo: Mohammad Al-Masum Molla
Kamal also said people earned the independence of the country through unity and they will have to form unity to protect the independence.

BNP leader Nazrul Islam Khan, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) President ASM Abdur Rob and other leaders of Jatiya Oikyafront were present at that time.

Earlier, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir along with party leaders and activists also placed wreaths at the National Memorial to pay homage to the Liberation War martyrs.


Jatiya Oikyafront leader Dr Kamal Hossain has sought an appointment with President Abdul Hamid on December 17.

A 10-member delegation, led by Kamal Hossain, will meet the president if they get the appointment.

Dr Kamal may discuss the “ongoing mass arrest and harassment of the alliance leaders and activists” with the president.

The delegation will also seek the president’s intervention in holding the upcoming national election in a free, fair and credible manner.


BNP and Jatiya Oikyafront have been blaming the government for carrying out mass arrest and harassment of their contenders, leaders and activists deliberately across the country ahead of the December 30 general election.

After announcement of the election schedule, BNP has been lodging complaints with the Election Commission (EC) seeking its step to stop the ongoing arrests and harassment for creating a level-playing field to hold the 11th parliamentary election in a credible manner.


On December 14, Jatiya Oikyafront key leader Dr Kamal Hossain’s motorcade came under attack near Martyred Intellectuals Memorial at Mirpur while he was returning after paying tribute, leaving at least 25 to 30 people injured.

On December 11, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam’s motorcade also came under attack, allegedly by AL men, in Thakurgaon’s Danarhat village during his election campaign.

At least 10 people were hurt and four vehicles were also vandalised in the attack, according to BNP.

On December 15, BNP leader Mirza Abbas reportedly came under attack when he was electioneering near Shegunbagicha area of Dhaka. Seven to eight BNP activists were wounded in the attack.


The Jatiya Oikyafront is an alliance of the BNP, Dr Kamal Hossain-led Jatiya Oikya Prokriya, ASM Abdur Rob’s Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, and Mahmudur Rahman Manna’s Nagorik Oikya.

The Oikyafront was formed on October 13 with the demands of a national election under a neutral government after dissolution of parliament and release of BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia from jail.


The 11-point goal announced by the alliance includes ensuring checks and balances in the state power, decentralisation of administration, freeing MPs from the stringent restrictions imposed on them under article 70 of the constitution, formation of a constitutional commission to make appointments to all constitutional and other important posts and full independence of the judiciary.

The alliance also announced a seven-point demand, including the one for holding the next parliamentary election under a nonpartisan government, dissolution of parliament before the polls and reconstitution of the Election Commission.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here