Govt to form three more divisions


Faridpur, Mymensing and Comilla will be made divisions, prime minister Sheikh Hasina told parliament on Wednesday.

In reply to a supplementary question, she reiterated the decision that her government first made public through a cabinet meeting recently.
“Greater Mymensing will be made a division. Faridpur division will be comprised of Gopalganj, Bagerhat, Madaripur and Sariatpur (apart from Faridpur). And Comilla as a division will accommodate Chandpur, Laxmipur, Noakhali and Brahmanbaria in addition to current Comilla district,” the premier said.
She said that the government would discuss about which division Feni could be included into. She, however, pointed out that it is better if Feni is with Comilla division in view of its proximity.
“But the problem is: the people of Chittagong or Comilla do not want to include Feni into their fold due to the rise of militant leader there…,” she said pointing her finger at BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia.

Source: Prothom Alo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here