6 BNP leaders get bail

The High Court on Thursday granted bail to six BNP leaders in different cases filed on charges of vandalising vehicles, attacking police and blasting cocktails in early March. The leaders are: Mirza Abbas, Goyeshwar Chandra Roy, Abdullah Al Noman, Amanullah Aman, Rizvi Ahmed and Moazzem Hossain Alal. Police filed the cases against them on March 2 and March 6 with Paltan, Ramna and Shahjahanpur police stations. The HC bench of Justice Salma Masud Chowdhury and Justice Md Jahangir Hossain passed the orders after hearing separate bail petitions filed by the accused. Advocate Sagir Hossain Leon, a lawyer for the petitioners, told The Daily Star that four leaders other than Aman and Rizvi have no legal bar to get released from jail following the HC order. He also said Aman and Rizvi are accused in other cases. Mirza Abbas got bail in six cases, Goyeshwar in five, Noman in five, Aman in six, Alal in seven and Rizvi in one case.

Source: The Daily Star