Narayanganj city polls on Dec 22

Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad announced the schedule for the polls on Monday.

According to the Election Commission’s schedule, nominations can be filed until Nov 24.

The nominations will be scrutinised on Nov 26 and 27. Nominations can be withdrawn until Dec 4.

EC Deputy Secretary Nuruzzaman Talukder will carry out the duties of returning officer for the Narayanganj City Corporation polls.

This is the second election in Narayanganj after it began its journey as a city corporation. For the first time, voting will be held on party lines.

At the first election for the Narayanganj City Corporation, Selina Hayat Ivy defeated AKM Shamim Osman. Both are Awami League leaders.

The BNP boycotted the polls, but later took part in the Dhaka and Chittagong civic polls.

The party is yet to make its decision known regarding the polls this time.

This will be one of the last elections to be overseen by the Rakibuddin-led EC.

It is supposed to hold the Comilla City Corporation polls in the first week of February before its tenure ends later that month.

Narayanganj city polls at a glance

* Voting will be held for the posts of mayor, 27 general and nine reserved ward councillors. * The number of voters in the city corporation is around 480,000, nearly half of them women. * Possible number of polling stations is 163 with 1,217 booths. * The EC will assign 163 presiding officers, 1,217 assistant presiding officers and 2,434 polling officers for the election.

Source: Bd news24


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here