AL picks 39 candidates for JS seats reserved for women


The ruling Awami League has announced the names of its 39 candidates for the seats kept aside for women in Parliament.


Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) finalised the nominations at a meeting held at the party chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s official residence Ganobhaban on Wednesday.


A total of 822 candidates from across the country collected nomination papers from the Awami League president’s Dhanmondi office to avail themselves of the opportunity.


The 39 candidates were picked considering their political careers, links with people and contributions to various movements of the country, said a party press release on Thursday.


The contenders are Selina Jahan Lita, Advocate Safura Begum Rumi, Advocate Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia, Advocate Umme Kulsum Smriti, Begum Akhter Jahan, Selina Begum Swapna, Selina Akhter Banu, Laila Arjuman Banu, Shirin Nayeem Punam, Kamrul Laila Jolly, Happy Boral, Rifat Amin, Nasima Ferdousi, Alhaj Lutfunnesa, Mamtaz Begum Advocate, Advocate Tarana Halim, Monwara Begum, Mahjabin Khaled, Fatema Zohra Rani, Dilara Mahbub Asma, Fatema Tuzzohura, Fazilatunnesa Indira, Puni Khan, Sanjida Khanam, Sabina Akhter Tuhin, Rahima Akhter, Advocate Hosne Ara Bably, Kamrun Nahar Chowdhury Lovely, Nilufar Jafar Ullah, Rokhsana Yasmin Chhuti, Advocate Navana Akhter, Asmatul Kibria Keya Chowdhury, Shamsun Nahar Begum Advocate, Fazilaunnesa Bappy, Wasifa Ayesha Khan, Jahanara Begum Surma, Sabiha Nahar Begum, Firoza Begum Chinu and Suchitra Tonchongya.

Source: UNB Connect


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here