86 police officials to be awarded for bravery, heroic performances

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is scheduled to inaugurate the three-day-long the programme, and will take salute of police parade at the parade ground .

The Police Week 2015 will begin at Rajarbagh Police Lines ground in the capital today.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is scheduled to inaugurate the three-day-long the programme, and will take salute of police parade at the parade ground.

Some 86 police officers and constables will be awarded with Bangladesh Police Medal (BPM) and President Police Medal (PPM) for their bravery and heroism in their services in 2014, according to a statement issued from the police headquarters.

Of the 86 policemen, 10 will get the BPM award and 16 will the PPM award for their outstanding performances in their job, it said.

Moreover,  20 police officials will be given BPM (service) awards and 40 other officials will get PPM (service) award for solving sensational cases, unearthing mysteries and performing duties accurately, it added.

Police constables Imam Uddin and Abdul Awal Bhuiyan who were killed in the post January 5 national election violences, and constable Abdul Malek who was shot dead in a gunfight with robbers will be given posthumously BPM award,  said a circular issued by the home ministry on January 22.

The circular signed by senior assistant secretary Farzana Jesmin said two sub-inspectors, one nayek, one lance nayek, and three constables will also be given the BPM award.

The selected officials for BPM (service) award are: Shahidul Islam, deputy inspector general (DIG) of special branch; Golam Faruk, additional DIG (admin and operation); Monirul Islam, joint police commissioner of Detective Branch (DB) of Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP); Jahangir Hossain, deputy police commissioner of DB, DMP; Krishna Pada Roy, deputy police commissioner of DB, DMP; Habibur Rahman, superintendent of police (SP) of Dhaka; Sheikh Nazmul Alam, deputy police commissioner of DB, DMP; Chowdhury Majurul Kabir, SP of Satkhira; Shah M Azad, senior assistant SP of Rab-8; Shamsul Haque, assistant SP of Faridpur; and Abu Bakkar Siddique, officer-in-charge of Dhanmondi police station.

Meanwhile, Adnan Kabir, a major of Barishal Rapid Action Battalion-8; SM Shirajul Huda, senior ASP of Moulovibazar; Shah Md Azad, senior ASP of Barisal RAB-8; Rasel Shaikh, senior ASP of Savar circle; Hasibul Haque, captain of RAB-8 of Barisal; Sikdar Akkas Ali, OC of Paikgasa police of Khulna; Shirajul Haque, SI of Kotowali police of Rangpur; Kamal Hossain, SI of Model police station of Feni; Shafiqul Islam, SI of Cantonment police DMP; Dulal Hossain, ASI of RAB-13 of Rangpur; Aminul Islam, ASI of Satkhira; Masud Mia, corporal (army) of RAB-7 of Chittagong; Gias Uddin, constable of police training centre of Noakhali and Md Shahjahan, OC of Lohagara Police of Chittagong will get the PPM award.

Source: Dhaka Tribune


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here