Tigers gain 2-0 lead

Bangladesh beat West Indies by 160 runs in 2nd ODI

Bangladesh’s opener Anamul Haque shows his delight after reaching his maiden ODI century during the second ODI match against West Indies at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna on Sunday.

Anamul Haque registered his maiden ODI century as Bangladesh beat West Indies by 160 runs in the second one-day international in Khulna on Sunday, to gain a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Winning the toss, Caribbeans captain Darren Sammy invited Bangladesh to bat at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna.

Bangladesh scored 292 runs losing six wickets in the stipulated 50 overs depending on a rapid century by opener Anamul.

Anamul made 120 off 145 balls, featuring 13 boundaries and two sixes.

In the early morning, Bangladesh lost two quick wickets of Tamim Iqbal (5) and Naeem Islam (6) scoring only 21 runs.

Later, Anamul made a 174-run partnership with skipper Mushfiqur Rahim to help their team to a competitive total.

Mushfiqur scored 79 (87) that featured eight boundaries and one six while Mominul Haque added 31 off 29 and Mashrafe Mortaza scored a quick 18 runs from only six balls.

West Indies bowlers Ravi Rampaul grabbed five wickets while Andre Russell took one wicket.

Chasing the target of 293-run, West Indies lost both the openers Chris Gayle and Lendl Simmons early scoring only 32 runs.

The tourists lost its wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 132 runs in 31.1 overs.

Bangladesh bowler Sohag Gazi and Abdur Razzak captured three wickets while Mashrafe Mortaza, Mahmudullah and Naeem Islam took one wicket each. Andre Russell was run out.

Earlier, the Tigers beat the tourists by seven wickets in the opening match in Khulna on November 30.

The West Indies cricket team arrived on a month-long tour in Dhaka on November 5 to play a full- fledged series against host Bangladesh.

The third one-dayer will be held in Dhaka on December 5 followed by fourth and final ODI on November 7 and 8 respectively.

ICC World T20 winners will also play a lone T20 in Dhaka on December 10.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Mominul Haque, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak and Rubel Hossain.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy (Captain), Devon Thomas, Dwayne Smith, Andre Russell, Ravi Rampaul and Sunil Narine.

Source: The Daily Star



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here