No Karunaratne, Mathews in SL squad for Bangladesh ODIs

The Daily Star  May 12, 2021

Sri Lanka’s squad for the Bangladesh ODIs does not include Angelo Mathews and Dimuth Karunaratne.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Wednesday announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh. The team will depart for Bangladesh on May 16 and the Minister of Youth and Sports, Namal Rajapaksa gave his approval for the squad. Sri Lanka will be led by Kusal Perera while Kusal Mendis will be his deputy for the three-match ODI series. The three-match series which is a part of the ODI Super League will be held on May 23, 25, and 28, within a bio-bubble stretching between the team hotel and Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star’s Google News channel.

Sri Lanka are set to arrive in Dhaka on May 16 before quarantining for three days. Sri Lanka defeated the Tigers at home 1-0 in the recent two-match Test series with Karunaratne in particular scoring big run in both Tests.

SL Squad:

Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here