Nominations for Khaleda, Tarique submitted


Bangladesh Nationalist Party chairperson Khaleda Zia and her eldest son Tarique Rahman submitted their nomination papers on Friday for the election to the positions of chairperson and senior vice-chairman of the party respectively.
The election to the two top positions of BNP is scheduled for March 19 in the council session of the party.
Neither anyone submitted nomination papers for the two top position of the party as the deadline for the submission expired on Friday nor anyone collected nomination forms for the two positions as the deadline for collection of the forms expired on March 2, said returning officer Nazrul Islam Khan.
Nazrul, also BNP standing committee member, told reporters that several nomination papers were submitted for Khaleda and Tarique to the returning officer at the election conducting commission office at the BNP central office at Nayapaltan.
On behalf of Khaleda, her election agent BNP joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi along with the party leaders and activists submitted her nomination paper.
Tarique Rahman’s election agent BNP joint secretary general Mohammad Shahjahan along with party leaders and activists submitted the nomination his nomination papers.
Nazrul said that one of the nomination papers for Khaleda was signed by BNP standing committee member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain and chairperson’s advisory council member Ruhul Alam Chowdhury as proposer and seconder.
Acting BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and vice-chairman Abdullah Al Noman signed one of the Tarique’s nomination forma as proposer and seconder, he said.
The nomination papers would be scrutinised today and the deadline for withdrawal of candidature would expire on Sunday.
Nazrul said that the election conducting commission would make statements at 5:00pm on Sunday over the election to the two top posts.
Commission member Harun-al-Rashid, also BNP vice-chairman and assistant returning officer Abdul Mannan, also BNP chairperson’s advisory council member were present.
A three member election commission headed by BNP standing committee member Jamiruddin Sircar was formed to conduct the elections to BNP chairman and senior vice-chairman.

Source: New Age


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here