JaPa to contest for 29 seats from AL fold

Jatiya Party

Jatiya PartyGeneral Ershad’s Jatiya Party (JaPa) will contest the 11th parliamentary elections in 29 constituencies maintaining alliance with ruling Bangladesh Awami League.

The list of JaPa candidates submitted to the election commission on Sunday confirmed that these candidates will compete in the election with party symbol plough.

This also means that the AL has shared 29 seats with the JaPa for contesting the polls from a common platform.

However, 131 more JaPa candidates will also contest the polls, but from outside of the AL-led grand alliance. They will contest as party candidates but there may be candidates from its major ally AL in those constituencies.

Those who will contest as the candidates of the grand alliance are: retired major Rana Mohammad Sohel for Nilphamari-3 constituency, Ahsan Adelur Rahman for Nilphamari-4, Golam Mohammad Kader Lalmonirhat-3, Mashiur Rahman Ranga for Rangpur-1, HM Ershad for Rangpur-3, AKM Mostafizur Rahman for Kurigram-1, Paniruddin Ahmed for Kurigram-2, Shamim Haidar Patwari for Gaibandha-1, Shariful Islam Jinnah for Bogura-2, Nurul Islam Talukdar for Bogura-3, Nurul Islam Omar for Bogura-6, Altaf Ali for Bogura-7, Golam Kibria Tipu for Barishal-3, Nasrin Jahan Ratna for Barishal-6, Rustom Ali Farazi for Pirojpur-3, Shafiullah Al Munir for Tangail-5, Begum Raushan Ershad for Mymensingh-4, Fakhrul Imam for Mymensingh-8, Mujibul Haque Chunnu for Kishoreganj-3, Syed Abu Hossain Babla for Dhaka-4, Kazi Firoz Rashid for Dhaka-6, Liakat Hossain Khoka for Narayanganj-3, Selim Osman for Narayanganj-5, Pir Fazlur Rahman Mizbah for Sunamganj-4, Yahya Chowdhury for Sylhet-2, Ziaul Haque Mridha for Brahmanbaria-2, retired lieutenant general Masud Uddin Chowdhury for Feni-3, Md Noman for Lakhsmipur-2 and Anisul Islam Mahmud for Chattogram-5.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here