30 BNP men sent to jail over 1994 attack on Hasina

30 BNP men sent to jail over 1994 attack on Hasina

UNB . Pabna | Prothom Alo  Jun 30, 2019

.A Pabna court on Sunday sent 30 leaders and activists of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) to jail in a case filed over a bomb attack on a train carrying the then opposition leader and Awami League president Sheikh Hasina in 1994.

Additional District and Sessions Judge Court-1 Rustam Ali passed the order after rejecting their bail petition when they appeared before it seeking bail.

According to the prosecution, miscreants opened fire and hurled bombs targeting a Rajshahi-bound train carrying Sheikh Hasina when it reached Pakshi Rail Station on 23 September, 1994.

Nazrul Islam, the then officer-in-charge of Ishwardi railways police station, filed the case in this connection.

On 3 April 1997, police submitted a chargesheet against 52 people in the case.

The court also issued warrant today for the arrest of the fugitive accused in the case.

Those denied bail are Abdul Jabbar, Fazlur Rahman, ShamsulAlam, Selim Ahmed, Enamul Kabir, Hafizur Rahman Mukul, Anwar Hossain Jony, Islam Hossain Jewel, Nefaur Rahman Raju, Shah Alam Liton, Mahbubur Rahman Palash, Alamgir Hoosain, Tuhin Bin Siddique, Palash, Rezaul Karim Shahin, Firojul Islam Payel, Kollol, Shyamol, Aram, Atol, Shamsur Rahman Shimua, Barkat Ali, Akkel Ali, Azmal Hossain, Moktar Hossain, Mokhlesur Rahman, Roby and Hakimuddin Tenu.

The law-point arguments in the case will begin on Monday.

Lawyers Akteruzzaman Mukta and Salma Ahmed Shilu represented the state while Nurul Islam stood for the accused.

Habibur Rahman Tota, general secretary of district unit BNP, said, “It’s a political case and we’ll face it legally.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here