5 advisers to PM resign


In the wake of formation of an election-time cabinet, five advisers to the Prime Minister resigned on Tuesday.


The five advisers are HT Imam, Dr Mashiur Rahman, Dr Modasser Ali, Alauddin Ahmed and Dr Tawfiq-E-Elahi Chowdhury.


PM’s Press Secretary Abul Kalam Azad told UNB that the resignation letters of the five advisers were submitted to the Prime Minister at her official residence Ganobhaban today and the Prime Minister’s Office sent those to the Ministry of Public Administration for necessary action.


Among the old advisers, Prof Dr Gowher Rizvi and Major General (retd) Tarique Ahmed Siddique are yet to submit their resignation letters till filing of the report at about 5:35 pm.


Meanwhile, the Prime Minister has appointed Ziuddin Ahmed Bablu, Barrister Shafique Ahmed, Dilip Barua and Anwar Hossain Manju as her new advisers after forming the ‘all-party’ polls-time government.


Shafique Ahmed and Dilip Barua were technocrat Ministers of the grand alliance.


Ziauddin Bablu belongs to HM Ershad’s Jatiya Party while Anwar Hossain Manju is the chairman of Jatiya Party (Manju).


After assuming power in January 2009, Hasina had appointed the seven advisers. Among the advisers, six enjoyed the status of full minister while one that of state minister.


These advisers used to attend cabinet meetings, drawing criticisms from outside and within the party.


Ruling party leaders Tofail Ahmed and late Abdul Jalil in Parliament raised question about the presence of the unelected advisers in cabinet meetings saying that these advisers did not take oath like ministers and state ministers.


Earlier, on Monday night, the Prime Minister at a meeting asked her advisers to quit their posts. Five advisers out of seven were present at the meeting.


These advisers did not attend Monday’s cabinet. Cabinet Division sources said the advisers were not invited on instructions from the Prime Minister.

Source: UNB Connect


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here