Rupganj end MSC’s winning streak

Prime Bank CC captain Anamul Haque celebrates his century against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club during their Dhaka Premier League match at the BKSP on Tuesday. — Courtesy photo

Mohammedan Sporting Club’s unbeaten run in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League came to an end after suffering a four-wicket loss against Legends of Rupganj at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday.
Mohammedan rode on Abdul Mazid’s 107 to post 295-7 in 50 overs but Rupganj skipper Naeem Islam made 85 and Mominul Haque and Rishi Dhawan made 55 and 51 respectively to take Rupganj to 296-6 in 49.2 overs.
At Fatullah, Abahani Limited continued their dominance by bringing up their fourth successive win in the league, beating Shinepukur Cricket Club by five wickets.
Skipper Anamul Haque made 101, his successive hundred in the competition and Abhimanyu Easwaran made 133 as Prime Bank Cricket Club beat Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by 29 runs in Duckworth Lewis method in a rain-hit match in BKSP

Mohammedan v Rupganj
Opener Mazid held one end up, but other top-order batsmen failed to convert their starts as Mohammedan were reduced to 96-3 in the 24th over after being sent to bat first.
Mazid then formed a 46 and 83-run partnership with Irfan Sukkur (25) and Nadif Chowdhury (64) respectively to take the score beyond the 200-run mark.
Mazid brought up his seventh List-A hundred off 119 balls before getting caught off Mohammad Shahid in the 44th over with the score on 225-5.
Late cameos from Chaturanga de Silva (23) and Sohag Gazi (17) took Mohammedan near the 300-run mark.
In reply, Rupganj were reduced to 40-2 inside seven overs, but a 77-run third wicket stand between a New Zealand-returned Mominul and Shahriar Nafees (25) brought their run-chase back on track.
Shafiul Islam removed the pair in quick succession to reduce Rupganj to 122-4.
Naeem then put a 99 and 71-run stand with Rishi and Jaker Ali (34 not out)respectively to take Rupganj just four runs away from victory before getting run out in the final ball of the penultimate over.
Jaker held his nerve and safely took his team home with four balls to spare.

Shinepukur v Abahani
Skipper Afif Hossain (48) and Towhid Hridoy (39) were the lone exception in a sorry-looking Shinepukur batting card, as they hobbled to 203-9 in 50 overs after being sent to bat.
Mosaddek Hossain claimed 3-41 while Mashrafee bin Murtaza finished with 0-14 from five overs.
Wasim Jaffer and Najmul Hossain made 76 and 42 respectively as Abahani reached 206-5 in 48.3 overs.

Prime Bank v Sheikh Jamal
Anamul and Abhimanyu’s hundreds were complimented by Ariful Haque’s unbeaten 32-ball 67 as Prime Bank reached a mammoth 344-6 in 50 overs after being sent to bat.
Nasir Hossain made a run-a-ball 76 and skipper Nurul Hasan remained unbeaten on 54 when rain ended Sheikh Jamal’s reply on 206-4 in 37.4 overs.

Brief Scores
Shinepukur Cricket Club 203-9 in 50 overs (Afif 48; Mosaddek 3-41) v Abahani Limited 206-5 in 48.3 overs (Wasim 76; Shoriful 3-44)
Result: Amahani Ltd won by 5 wickets
Prime Bank Cricket Club 344-6 in 50 overs (Abhimanyu 133, Anamul 101; Tanbir 2-27) v Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club 206-4 in 37.4 overs (Nasir 76, Nurul 54 not out; Nahidul 2-51)
Result: Prime Bank CC won by 29 runs in DL method
Mohammedan Sporting Club 295-7 in 50 overs (Mazid 107, Nadif 64; Mohammad Shahid 3-70) v Legends of Rupganj 296-6 in 49.2 overs (Naeem 85, Mominul 55; Shafiul 2-65)
Result: Rupganj won by 4 wickets.


Source: New Age.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here