BNP’s Siraj takes oath as MP

BNP’s Siraj takes oath as MP

Prothom Alo English Desk |  Jul 11, 2019

Golam Mohammad Sirajul Islam. Photo: CollectedGolam Mohammad Sirajul Islam, Bangladesh Nationalist Party’s member of parliament-elect from Bogura-6 seat, on Thursday took oath as a member of the 11th parliament, reports UNB.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at 3:30pm at her office, said a parliament secretariat handout.

On 24 June, Sirajul Islam won the Bogura-6 by-polls.
The constituency was declared vacant as BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the 30 December general election, did not take oath as MP within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.

With Siraj’s taking oath, the total number of BNP MPs now stands seven in the current parliament.

Earlier, five BNP MPs-elect were sworn in on 25 April and 29 April last.

Later on 9 June, Rumeen Farhan took oath as a BNP MP from one of the seats reserved for women in parliament.

Fifty seats, reserved for women, are distributed among political parties in proportion to their number of MPs in parliament.

BNP, which has six MPs in the House, got one from the reserved seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here