Auto-rickshaws get 2 hours to use highways for refuelling

Three-wheelers continue to ply highways with passengers beside the driver flouting ban. The photo was taken from Dhaka-Aricha highway on Thursday. — Ali Hossain Mintu

The road transport and bridges minister, Obaidul Quader, on Thursday said that CNG-run auto-rickshaws would be allowed to use highways for two hours, between 6:00am and 8:00am, every day for refuelling from highway-side gas stations.

They, however, would not be allowed to carry passengers while using the highways for refuelling, he said during a visit to Comilla.
The auto-rickshaw workers would be allowed to take the opportunity only if there is no refuelling station in the adjacent area, said a release issued by the ministry.
Three-wheelers and non-motorised vehicles were, however, seen to run on national highways defying ban for the sixth day on Thursday, reported New Age correspondents.
The ministry on July 27 issued a circular banning movement of three-wheelers and non-motorised vehicles on highways from August 1 following findings that their growing presence led to recent spate of traffic accidents on highways across the country.
New Age correspondent in Sylhet reported that the District Auto-rickshaw Workers Union leaders at a press conference held at the Sylhet District Press Club threatened to wear burial clothes and enforce strike for an indefinite period from on August 16 if the ban was not withdrawn by August 15.
In the capital, Bangladesh Road Transport Owners and Workers’ Unity Council at a press conference supported the ban.
Council convener Khondakar Enyet Ullah said that if the ban could be implemented, the number of road accidents would decrease by 20 to 25 per cent.
He said that the ban was imposed to ensure people’s safe and secured journey on highways.
Currently about 13 lakh unregistered shallow engine-driven Nasimon, Karimon, Bhotbhoti and three-wheelers were running on highways, he added.
The press conference was attended, among others, by the council leaders Rustom Ali Khan, Faruque Talukder Sohel and Md Sadiqur Rahman Hira.

Source: New Age


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here