Sri Lanka dominate BD with 6 wickets win


Sri Lanka have picked up a comfortable win over Bangladesh beating the visitor by six wickets in the first T20I.

Chasing a target of 156, Sri Lanka were never really threatened by Bangladesh.

Kusal Perera scored 77 from just 53 balls and took the game out of Bangladesh’s hand. He was dismissed when the team needed only 9 runs and the side managed to do that comfortably.

Mashrafe took two wickets for the team while Taskin one.

Favored by coin, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza decided to bat first in the T20I opener.

Tamim departed in the second ball of the innings but Sabbir-Soumya made a brisk partnership as the visitor went past 50 in just five overs.

Middle order floped in the innings including Shakib and Mushfiq, but late contribution from Mosaddek and Mahmudullah set a fighting target of 156.

Earlier, skipper Mashrafe Mortaza had just announced his retirement from T20I after Sri Lanka series.

Sri Lanka Team

MDKJ Perera†, EMDY Munaweera, WU Tharanga*, CK Kapugedera, DAS Gunaratne, TAM Siriwardana, NLTC Perera, S Prasanna, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga, JRMVB Sanjaya.

Bangladesh Team

Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza*, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *