15 selected for Ekushey Padak


The government has announced the names of 15 individuals selected for this year’s Ekushey Padak (Award), one of the country’s highest civilian awards.

This year’s selected awardees are: Piaru Sardar (posthumous) in recognition for his role during the language movement; late Abdur Rahman Boyati (posthumous), SA Abul Hayat and ATM Shamsuzzaman for their contribution to the arts; Kamal Lohani for his contribution to journalism; Abul Kalam Mohammad Zakaria for his contributions to research; Sanat Kumar Saha and Dr MA Mannan for their contributions to research and education; Professor Dwijen Sharma and Mohammad Nurul Huda for their contributions to language and literature; and Jharna Dhara Chowdhury, Srimat Satya Priya Mahathero and Professor Dr Arup Ratan Choudhury for their contributions to social welfare.

They also include Professor Majibar Rahman Debdas in liberation war and Faridur Reza Sagar as media personality, reported BSS.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to hand over the awards to the awardees at a ceremony to be held at the capital’s Osmani Memorial Auditorium on February 19.

Source: Dhaka Tribune


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here